New England Golf and Tennis Camp History

Boys Camp HistoryThe New England Golf and Tennis Camp is located on the grounds of the former Kennebec Camps, founded in 1907. Originally founded as a camp to escape the sweltering heat of the summer at the turn of the last century, Kennebec developed over the years to become one of the preeminent sports and adventure camps in the northeast. Kennebec was very fortunate to have tremendous leadership over the years including long time Director Lou Fleisher and then later Harry Meyers. Through the years and several changes in ownership, the one constant was always a dedication to the development of campers as individuals. Many Kennebec campers have gone on to be quite successful and many credit the valuable life lessons learned on the shores of Salmon Lake in Belgrade, Maine.

Camper HistoryIn 1997 under the ownership of the Lavenson family, Kennebec was transformed into a golf and tennis camp. MGTA was a very unique specialty camp that combined professional sports training in a traditional summer camp setting.

Bob Siff, the current owner and director, established New England Golf and Tennis Camp in 2012. NEGTC originally operated on the grounds of the Sunday River Golf Resort before relocating in 2015 to our current location on the former Kennebec Camps property.

Meyers Lodge HistoryToday, the unique concept of specialty golf and tennis camp in a traditional camp setting is thriving. New England Golf and Tennis Camp combines cutting edge professional instruction with the incredible warmth and support of a traditional summer camp. Our leadership team is very excited to continue the proud legacy of “The Kennebec Camps”, to provide each child with the opportunity of personal growth and an outstanding camp experience.

35 Golf Academy Drive
Belgrade, Maine, 04917


135 Maine Street #292
Brunswick, Maine 04011